Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Another one bikes the dust!

Another one bikes the dust! 2 months 2 weeks ago #119575

• Monkey#13
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Thank you received: 4
Attention all!

A little introduction: I be a Citizen of the fairest Cape of them all! No not the West, nor the East, but the NORTH! From the dust and rocks and sand of the green Kalahari (and the Haakbos and Kameeldoring). From a village known for its particular shade of pink called Kathu. Well it's hardly a village anymore these days to be honest...

Excuse the drama but I thought it best not to just enter but to announce my presence with some fanfare. Enough of that now.

I am fairly new to biking (motorbikes being death machines and all evil distilled into metal and plastic and fuel and noise!). I am very new to KLR. I started riding October last year on a CRF250L. Still have it but... it's not lekker to be full throttle just to hold 115 for more than 6,6 minutes at a time. And being from the big sky country with it's vast horizon and endless gravel highways, a need was identified. Now I know that a KLR could never be described as a luxurious bike however, it is for me a vast comfort upgrade from the 250! Thus enters a 2007(8) new shape with 26k km within my budget. It is red with a silver frame. (Everything in Kathu turns pink eventually, so if the plastics fade, she should fit right in :P). I am struggling to re-size images - pics to follow.

I have not had the pleasure of a lot of cross country trips yet, but I have done a couple of long days in the last couple of months. 500km of gravel and 700km tar being the longest.

Likes thus far: The thumper sound (Penta aftermarket can installed by a previous owner).
Not having to wring it's neck to hold 110-130. The wind protection - no idea how good it is compared to say a BMW GS, but vastly superior to having none! The weight (better in cross winds than the 250...)